I’m sure plenty of us (especially Journalism majors) have experienced writer’s block.

This happens to me quite often, more than I’d like. I get distracted by anything and everything that is around me, and I usually end up looking like this guy…

Writer’s block usually seems like an excuse to not write, but not many people know this is serious stuff. You have a great ideas, you know what you will be writing about. But right when your fingers touch the keyboard, all your ideas go out the window and you become distracted by a stain on your desk that you know you should have cleaned months ago, but decided not to because you were too lazy.

Then you start thinking about how lazy you are and how you need to start being more active and eating healthy and before you know it, an hour later you’re still sitting there looking at that stain, being lazy and eating straight out of the Nutella jar.

So what is the solution for this?

This great blog gives advice on how to cure writer’s block and shares seven easy steps to overcoming it:

  1. Pick your prime time and block out your calendar.
  2. Pick one central idea/concept.
  3. Stick with a single structure.
  4. Organize your ideas.
  5. Use #s and bullet points.
  6. Use stories.
  7. Just write.

While many of us blame writer’s block for our ability to get work done on time, Kristin Cashore’s blog mentions Philip Pullman doesn’t believe in writer’s block. He says “All writing is difficult; the most you can hope for is a day when it goes reasonably easy.”

Doing research on this topic, I learned a few tricks that can help with writer’s block and whether you just don’t feel like writing, or your brain just doesn’t want to collaborate and needs a break, the most common way to overcoming the problem is to just write—even if it doesn’t make sense.

So no more Nutella, no more staring at that stain (which I cleaned), and no more “Aw darn, I have writer’s block” excuses.

I will keep calm and just write. 

